Concerto for violin, cello and orchestra (2011)

Work commissioned by BBC Radio 3 (for BBC Proms 2011) and the Vienna Konzerthaus
WP: 18.08.2011, London (UK), Royal Albert Hall | Viktoria Mullova (violin), Matthew Barley (violoncello), Ilan Volkov (conductor), BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

Orchestra instrumentation
violin, violoncello, 2/2/3 (3 also bass clar.) – 2/2/2/2/1 – P. S. (2 players) – electr. zith./cel/acc/p (prep.) – str. (8/6/5/4/3)

Brish Composer Award “International Award” 2012

Programme note
An enormous round space, an empty dark space … a moment in which the flow of time has been halted … noises emerge from the silence: a crackling and flickering which could form the preliminary stage of a sound … a high continuous tone. Suddenly the silence has transformed itself into a continuous, allembracing tonal space … the space contracts around me and begins to exert pressure on my lungs; the air is squeezed out, waves of unconsciousness seep through my head and the space transforms itself into a single, incomprehensively large wave … I am merely an infinitesimal particle within the body of this wave … someone opens a door, the room is large and dark; everything is quiet … the room opens out. I stand in this room and walk through it without however moving from my position … until, having been transformed into a point which is constantly moving further away, I disappear.

Thomas Larcher