The Living Mountain for soprano and ensemble (2019–2020)

Text by Nan Sheperd
Photographs: Awoiska van der Moolen
commissioned by Conertgebouw Amsterdam (composer in residence)
WP: 02.04.2020 Het Concertgebouw | Amsterdam, Niederlande | ASKO | Schönberg, Sarah Aristidou (Sopran), Awoiska van der Molen (Photographin) – cancelled due to Corona pandemic

I “At first, mad to recover the tang of height”
II “As I reach the highest part of my dark moor”
III “In September dawns I hardly breathe”
IV “Once on a night of such clear silence”
V “Further up it is all snow”

Orchestra instrumentation

The Living Mountain
24 x 29 centimeter / 48 pages / greyback paper + 16 pp on IBO (Japanese bound, black inside) / 5 colours + varnish / cahier / EN / Design: Hans Gremmen / Isbn 978-94-90119-88-1 / 2020

This is the third publication in which Awoiska probes deeply into the essence of the remote unspoiled natural worlds where her images are created. The book is published alongside the music composition The Living Mountain written by Thomas Larcher as composer-in-residence at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam (2019-2020). The music piece draws inspiration from photographs that Awoiska made for Larcher in the mountains of his native Tirol (Austria). The monochrome landscapes are combined with reproductions of Larcher’s scores and remnants. The title for both the composition and this book is taken from Nan Shepherd’s book of poetic prose on the Scottish Cairngorms mountains that she wrote in 1942 and which was first published in 1977. (